Making all things new, This little light of mine

Who are YOU? WYD?

cropped-10.png

About 2 weeks ago I went and got a new tattoo done by one of my college friends, Felecia (aka fe_the_artist on IG) whom I haven’t seen in a while. It was great catching up with her and also inspiring to watch her do the thing that she loves doing. I’ve known her for 10 plus years, and she’s always drawing, painting, and now in the past year a tattoo artist. My friend is an artist and she’s living out who she is by DOING art!

I started to reflect and ask myself 2 basic questions:

  1. Who are you?
  2. What are you doing?

Who am I really? What AM I doing with my life? I tend to be a very literal person, so my natural response was circa 1992 AOL chatroom:

I’m Keta, 31 yo SBF, seeking Jesus, anything purple and long walks on the beach. 

In that moment I heard God say, “Don’t be basic, you need to figure out who you really are through me”. Since then, I’ve been spending a lot more time figuring out who I really am, what I really love doing, and what to do with the gifts that God has given me. We all have spiritual gifts according to 1 Corinthians 12:4.

Now there are [distinctive] varieties of spiritual gifts [special abilities given by the grace and extraordinary power of the Holy Spirit operating in believers], but it is the same Spirit [who grants them and empowers believers]. 1 Corinthians 12:4 AMP

In order to utilize these gifts we have been given we must:

  1. Discover who God says that we are by reading God’s word
  2. Discover what spiritual gifts God has given us
  3. Discover how to properly utilize our gifts for the glory and edification of God

How do you do this you ask? Do what works for you. Some suggestions include and things I’ve done:

  • Journaling/writing
    • check out this self exploration journal. I LOVE it!!
  • Prayer and meditation
  • Taking inventory of your hobbies
  • Spending time alone doing the things you love to do i.e. traveling, running, movies or exploring a local farmers market
  • Reading books

Ultimately, do you, be you and love you unapologetically!!

Peace, love, and blessings!

Keta

Leave a Reply

